PDA

View Full Version : About my memory and OS


Soader03
01-31-2010, 10:42 PM
Hey there,

This topic concerns Mac OSX: Snow Leopard.

I recently upgraded my memory to 4GB (2 wasn't enough) on my MacBook and I have a question related to that.

Since that, I want to use the full power of my machine. If I go in System Information, it says that the Kernel 64 bits is not activated. But, if I go in Activity Monitor, all my programs have the type Intel (64 bits). Under the circle diagram of the memory usage, it says 3.75GB, so I guess I don't use all my available RAM?

Please, I don't really understand what's going on...

iModAMD
02-01-2010, 03:34 AM
You have 3.75GB memory because you have a integrated graphic card who takes 256mb of memory . So dont worry ;) BTW . Reinstall mac osx ... because usualy 32bits OS supports 1.86gb of memory without PAE. So by installing after the upgrade maybe it will install itself into 64bits... Just suppositions I never touched Snow Leopard. But dont worry for the memory...

Soader03
02-01-2010, 07:26 AM
Well okay, it makes sense, thanks dude!